Peacock Training Institute
This course will be coming in April. Stay tuned our Facebook page and our webpage.
Maryland Wear and Carry Permit
Initial training is a 16 hour, 2 day training. We charge $360 tuition for that class.
The renewal training is 8 hours, 1 day. We charge $160 for that class.
Wear and Carry Permits may be issued to any adult (18 years of age or over) who meets the following criteria:
1. Has not been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been imposed;
2. Has not been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance;
3. Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless under legitimate medical direction;
4. Based on an investigation, has not exhibited a propensity for violence or instability that may reasonably render the person’s possession of a handgun a danger to the person or others;
5. Has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, such as finding that the permit is necessary as a reasonable precaution against danger.
6. As of October 1, 2013, has successfully completed prior to application and each renewal, a firearms training course approved by the Maryland State Police.
What constitutes a good and substantial reason? Based on the guidance provided by the Maryland Public Safety Code, handgun permits may be issued to applicants based on the following circumstances:
1. Owner or employee of a business. You must submit photocopies of the Trader’s License or Business License to support a request based on business ownership or as an authorized employee. You must also submit photocopies of six random deposit slips for the business showing the deposits within a year of the application submission date or a letter from the bank attesting that your business has a monetary flow, along with photocopies of ten receipts showing purchases for supplies and/or payments received for services. If you are an employee, you must submit a letter from your employer on the business stationary, explaining in detail why you need to carry a firearm as part of your duties.
2. Professional Activities. Doctors, pharmacists, etc., must show evidence of legitimacy of business activity and valid certification or license applicable to your activities.
3. Correctional Officers. Must submit verification of employment and documentation of threats and/or assaults (ie., police reports, facility incident reports, and intelligence reports).
4. Former Police Officers. If you have resigned or have retired, you must provide a photocopy of your retired I.D. card (front and back) and produce a letter from your former agency advising that you resigned/retired in good standing, your official resignation/retirement date and how many years of service. NOTE: Permits are issued based on the "immediacy" of the application and years of service.
5. Private Detective/Security Guard/Special Police/Armored Car Guards. All applicants who are employed as Private Detectives, Security Guards, Special Police Officers and Armored Car Guards must submit a certification of qualification with a handgun obtained from a Maryland State Police Certified Handgun Instructor on a State Police form. A copy of the form letter supporting “good and substantial reasons,” ownership of weapon, and location where the weapon will be maintained, is also required. (This form can be obtained from your employer). Submissions of dual applications will be processed by the Handgun Permit Unit.
6. Personal Protection. There must be documented evidence of recent threats, robberies, and/or assaults, supported by official police reports or notarized statements from witnesses.
MD Wear and Carry permit is good only in MD, and is not recognized by any other states.
The MSP Licensing division, is the portal for information regarding this training.